Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

jummping out of 4wd

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mike_d, Jan 6, 2002.

1. mike_d

mike_d Registered Member

I have an 84 k5 with a 350eng, 350 trans, and an np 203 tcase, and it jumps out of 4wd when on dry land. I was driving it down the road tonite in the snow and whenever I hit a dry spot or a spot with no snow it jumped out of 4wd. It does it in 4 hi and 4 lo. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appriciated. I am fairly new to the 4wd game but am learning quickly, so any help would be great.
    Thanks.

2. mpascino

mpascino 1/2 ton status

To start off, an 84 K5 should have a 208 transfer case. Did you switch it out? Has you truck been lifted? Has the t-case been shimed down? The first thing to check is to see if your shifter linkage, assuming you have a 208 is properly adjusted. If it isn't the transfer case isn't locking into gear and pops out of gear when added resistance occurs. Also, how long have you had the truck? Have you used the 4 wheel drive before with no problems? My suburban when I bought it had two different gear ratios in it. The 4 wheel drive worked when on snow since the tires could slip but when on pavement I would have problems. I'd say start from here and let us know how you make out. Also fill out you profile, where are you from?
    Good luck,
    Mike

The jeep eater ......[​IMG]

3. mike_d

mike_d Registered Member

I haven't had the truck long. This is the second time I've put it in 4wd, once on dry pavment on my way into a field and then in the snow. Use the tcase was changed, it is deffinatly an np203. It doens't have a lift yet, a six inch is in the works but not on yet.

4. TXBIGFISH

TXBIGFISH 1/2 ton status