Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Junk my block, or no?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mofugly13, Aug 3, 2004.

1. mofugly13

mofugly13 1 ton bucket of rust Premium Member

I have a the disassembled 327 that came with my K5 taking up room in the garage. When I pulled the motor out, I figgered I could rebuild it someday down the line. It's supposedly one of the high nickel blocks, 4 bolt main, and I've never built a SBC before. BUT, the thing is, it's already been bored .060 over. I had some minor compression issues, but that may have been due to the fact that a couple of the piston rings came off in two pieces when I pulled the pistons out. The bores show no signs of scoring, could I just re-hone? Is .060 the max that a cyl. can be bored out? Should I hang onto this block, or list it as a lost cause?

2. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

yes .060 is the farthest you can go with a 327 and 350. some blocks can not be bored .060 because of too much core shift. anyway i would check the bore with a bore guage to see if its out of round or has too much clearance. you probably could hone it out, but i would check it first.

3. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Let me first start off by saying you have a 350 not a 327. GM never made a 4 bolt 327. If the engine was running without any overheat issues and the bores are still round and straight then it could be reused again at a later date but as noted above .060" is the max on SBC's and most won't even go that far without having overheat issues.

4. mofugly13