Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Junk yard ident... 1976 truck axles??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by camarossguy2, Jan 28, 2005.

1. camarossguy2

camarossguy2 1/2 ton status

I was browsin through the junk yard today and i found a 1976 chevy truck, reg cab, but with no emblems. i think it may have been a "20" but im not sure, just looking at the faded areas were the emblems used to be.
    Anyway, it had 4.10 gear code in the glove box, a 12 bolt rear end, and a 10bolt front end with 6 lug axles...

now, im a beginner at this k5 stuff, could i get some details from your wiser guys?

Does it sound like a 3/4 ton?
    Whats up front? dana 44? stock 10 bolt? is sound like anydifferent then a 89k5s (besides the 30 vs 28 spline?)

Will these axles work on my 89 k5? Im refering to width, bolting on to the springs, shock mounts etc?? Will some of my 89k5s brake stuff fit on to this front axle?

Thank from the newb

p.s. im still trying to find info in searches, but if you care to add, are there any other cars i sure look for in the junk yard? i noticed some older dodge trucks had beefy lookin pass side drop front axles? any specifics axles that will drop in to my blazer?

2. boz42

boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

deffently not 3/4 ton axles if u are right on the i.d., & 76 should have a 44 frt

3. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

half ton, the 12 bolt rear gives it away as well as the 6 lug wheels. and it didn't have a 10 bolt in front unless it was swapped there, 76 only can with a d44 front.

4. boz42

boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner