Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

just blew my 33

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by eric22, May 22, 2004.

  1. eric22

    eric22 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lemoore CA
    and ive been waitin to lift my 90 blazer, and get some 35 x 15.5 i just got a flat, and i would rather spend the money on a lift, than a replacment sorta-stock-tire, so i was lookin for some advise on a good suspension/body lift that would fit those tires, i was thinking a 2"body and 4 suspention, what ya think, for the least problems??

    thanks
     
  2. big jimmy 91

    big jimmy 91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwestern Ontario Canada
    I am running 35 X14 X15s on my91 with no lift and a little trim with min. rub /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  3. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    You need a 4" spring lift for sure, then you can add a body lift later if needed. I'd go with 4" TC EZ ride fronts and a shackle flip from ORD in the rear. Im running 38X12.50's with 4" of lift and some fender trimming /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,096
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    [ QUOTE ]
    and ive been waitin to lift my 90 blazer, and get some 35 x 15.5 i just got a flat, and i would rather spend the money on a lift, than a replacment sorta-stock-tire, so i was lookin for some advise on a good suspension/body lift that would fit those tires, i was thinking a 2"body and 4 suspention, what ya think, for the least problems??

    thanks

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Well you're a Cali guy so my guess is your K5 has little to no rust so I would definantly not trim the fenders unless you want to.

    What width and offset rim are you going with? I would forget the body lift because they can be a PITA to install if it doesn't go just right and having all suspenion looks better anyway. I would just get a 6" BDS or tough Country lift and be done with it. 6" will be barely enough to clear those wide tires on certain rims, I have basically 10" of lift and when flexed out and turning my 35x16 boggers get suprisingly close to the corners of the front fenders, although I do have them mounted on 16.5x14 welds with 3.75" of backspacing. /forums/images/graemlins/pimp1.gif /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  5. unick

    unick 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Comufornia
    I have an old worn out 4" lift and 35s fit but they would rub if i hit a bump. I trimed the fenders and no more rubbing. Personnally I think it looks better now then it did before the trim.

    Nick
     
  6. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    That's gonna be the most expensive flat you ever got! /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    Don't get started on the "what lift do I need to clear (x) tires?" thing, as it will vary by truck, condition of existing suspension, what new components you get, and phase of the moon.

    Short answer: You're in for some fun. Not necessarily a bad thing, but lifting your truck can get expensive quick, with all the little pieces you don't think of right away.

    -- A
     
  7. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    lifting your truck can get expensive quick, with all the little pieces you don't think of right away.

    -- A

    [/ QUOTE ]


    isn't that the truth. I thought when I lifted my sub it was going to be cheap. but you realize I might as well replace this and that and Eventually it adds up very very fast...

    good luck...........
     
  8. eric22

    eric22 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lemoore CA
    thanks everyone, i think ill try the "6 suspension lift, will the extra 6 inches require any driveline mods?

    btw it looks great with the spare on /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     
  9. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    6" will PROBABLY need longer drivelines...I'd say go with a 4 then do some fender trimming. there is a good article in the tech write ups that will help.
     
  10. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    thanks everyone, i think ill try the "6 suspension lift, will the extra 6 inches require any driveline mods?

    btw it looks great with the spare on /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    [/ QUOTE ] With my 76 K5 I ended up having new driveshafts made when I went 6". I highly recomend calling ORD and have them set up 6" lift "kit" for you. I'd go 6" Tuff Country springs + thier extended shackles up front. And ORD's 4" shackle flip + either 2" or 3" (I went with the 3") Tuff Country rear springs.
     
  11. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,096
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I doubt you will need shaft work, seems that the early model guys can't get away with it and the later model trucks can handle 6" for the most part. Just from what I've seen. Your 90' K5 running gear was almost identical to my 85'(I swapped in a 241) and I ran my stock shaft for a long time with more like 7" in the back. The problem was that I kept breaking them /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gifso I finally decided to upgrade.
     

Share This Page