Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Just got a 72 Blazer

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 72BlazerTravis, Dec 20, 2002.

  1. 72BlazerTravis

    72BlazerTravis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jefferson City, Missouri
    It already has 4 inches of lift and 33's, a quirky Holley carberator, NP 205, SM465 4 speed manual, D-44 up front and Chevy 12 bolt rear. The engine is not the original 350 but a 305 with headers and I think a cam kit (just rebuild with 6000 miles on it) but other than that its not bad for being 30 years old. My question is, I also have a 73 and my 72 is missing a side glass out of the topper shell and I wonder if one from the 73 with fit it?

    Also if I have any drive train problems right off can I swap in the auto trans (turbo 350) from the 73? What about the NP203 full time case if I need it, and the axles?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. blueturd

    blueturd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    If you swap in the Th350, the 203 will probably have to stay with it because I think the splines on the 205 are different.

    I have a 350 in a 72 Blazer that I might sell if you are interested.
     
  3. Steve_Chin

    Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Posts:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Foster City, CA, USA
    The side glass in the shell is very different between the Gen1 and Gen2, so no-go there.

    The front axle will bolt right into the '72 from the '73. The rear axle spring perches and shock mounts are located at different positions on the axles, so the '73 rear axle would need to be modified (cutting and welding) in order to put it under the '72.

    The TH350 has a 27 spline output and the SM465 has a 10 spline output. This means you can't bolt your NP205 directly to the TH350. I think that Advance Adapters makes a kit to make it work.
     

Share This Page