Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

keep blowing 60amp fuses!?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BranndonC, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    I have a power wire going to one of these guys [​IMG] except mine holds 2. anyway I have a 60 amp fuse in there, then it goes to one of these guys[​IMG] which spreads it from one big wire to 2 smaller wires. from there i have a power wire going to a 50 amp relay then power going to my fans...

    I KEEP BLOWING FUSES ANY TIME I DRIVE IT! lol its annoying, i want to bypass it fully but i dont want to see what happens then. Anyone have an idea what could be causing it? they are windstar fans
     
  2. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    i just wired mine with 2 30 amp realys and 2 30 amp circuit breakers. 1 set for each fan. i took the actuall relays from the windstar and the breakers from napa
     
  3. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    only pic i have of the wiring . i can get more if you want

    i have the circuit breakers closer to the battery

    DSCF0009.JPG
     
  4. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    circuit braker idea is awesome! i have a hundred amp one I forgot about. I'll go put that in now and see if it blows
     
  5. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    how about the quality of the wire also?
     
  6. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Get a Taurus fan and wire it like this!!

    You will have zero problems:D
    [​IMG]
     
  7. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    thanks guys, i swapped in the 150A circuit braker
     

Share This Page