Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Keeper instructions - do you use it like it says?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Skigirl, Dec 11, 2002.

1. Skigirl

Skigirl 1/2 ton status

Instructions that came with my Keeper strap follows. I've never used one before. Do you all use it like the instructions say?

1.Attach only to vehicle frame or hitch strong enough for extreme towing stress (how strong is a hitch pin anyway??). DO NOT USE PORTABLE METAL HARDWARE such as chains or hooks to attach strap to vehicle.

2. To attach to frame, form a loop around the frame by passing one end loop through the other. Or attach to tractor hitch pin or frame mounted tow hook strong enough for extreme towing stress.(Anybody have a tow hook mounted to the frame? - My bumper is thicker metal than the frame.)

3. Tie a rag around strap to protect from sharp edges. Be particularly careful of sharp edge on bottom of bumper.

Then it goes on to how to yank somebody out. That part I get. But I thought everyone hooked their recovery straps with clevises.

So, is this how it's done? Seems like a big PITA to wrap around a frame then put one end loop thru the other (especially if it's a 4" strap). /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. Seventy4Blazer

Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

i had a clevis on my hitch, removable type. a hitch pin can be rated up past 10klbs. mine was like 9k or so. BUT, i refuse to use straps for anything but hitching to trees. seen far to many ofthem break. if you got somebody who knows what is going on with the cahin you will be fine
    Grant

3. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author