Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Laptop drivin' me nuts!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by mrk5, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,331
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    For as long as we've had out Compaq Presario laptop, it never keeps the date and time properly.

    It's plugged in 95% of the time while it's on or off.

    Just while surfing this evening for a couple of hours, I had to adjust the time twice.

    It starts to mess with the forums when it gets really off. Plus when I create documents, I can never count on the date modified being accurate.

    Anybody have any ideas?

    Let's see, it's XP Home, AMD Athlon XP processor.

    I've tried googling the problem with no luck.

    It's just one of the nagging little things that'll drive a fella nuts! :screwy:
     
  2. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Your CMOS battery needs to be replaced. I don't know how easy it will be to access on a laptop. Its a quarter sized watch battery design, and can be had for 10$ ish at a Radio Shack / Source / Circut City / Battery store in the mall.

    An alternative to replacing the battery is to install a program called Abouttime http://www.arachnoid.com/abouttime/ (Free program).

    The install consists of clicking next, next, next, finish (or something to that degree).

    When you first launch the program from your start menu you MAY see a warning about being blocked by your firewall (assuming you have one). Set firewall to allow always.

    To configure, first goto the "Time Hosts" tab and delete all entries there. Click on add to add a custom host. Site name can be whatever you want, Host name should be pool.ntp.org. Click on verify entry (IMPORTANT!) and then ok.

    Next goto the options tab, in the number box beside set time, enter how often you want the program to update the time, in minutes. 10 works well.

    The following boxes should be checked off Set time at, Try all hosts, Set time when starting, Start Hidden, and put an icon in the system tray (if you want one).

    Close the window, and re-launch it from the start menu. If you have done this properly it should load the icon in your tray (if you checked that box) or appear to have done nothing at all (if you didn't).

    Voila, your computer time, will syncronize with the atomic clock (most accurate clock available).
     
  3. B_to_C

    B_to_C 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In Government Housing
    I'll just trade you my laptop :D

    way mroe impresive stats then that stupid compaq anyways

    2.8GHz w/ 433mhz FSB
    512 ram on single chip
    40 gigs
    (4) 2.0 USB ports
    S-video port

    Just one problem....motherboard needs abuot $300 worth of work :doah:
     
  4. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    Need a new cmos battery.
     
  5. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,331
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Thanks guys, I knew someone here could help me out.

    I think I will try the battery and the arachnoid-abouttime program.


    I'll trade you the laptop for a custom made rear driveshaft.:tongue1:
     
  6. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    only problem you're going to run into with the CMOS battery is:


    its a laptop, who knows where that thing is hidden, and how many times you are going to void your warrenty trying to find it.
     
  7. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    If its under warranty, call Compaq/HP and find out if this is a known problem (or check the support knowledge base on compaq's site).

    Like the man said, you can void the warranty if it's not an End-User replacable part. On a laptop, it could be a little 1/2/3 swap, or it could be massive disassembly. Even worse, could be soldered to the board. ;)
     
  8. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Let it be known that Ratch has refered to me as

    "the man"

    I can now sleep happily


    :D
     
  9. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,331
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    I don't believe it is under warrantee. I have had the computer almost 2 years, and I didn't get any kind of extended warrantee.
     
  10. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    most laptops that I've worked on have the CMOS battery are soldered on.
     

Share This Page