Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Laptop for scanning/tuning EFI

Discussion in 'General Parts for Sale' started by dyeager535, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Finally got one "done".

    Specs on it (and additional items) are:

    Dell Latitude CPi
    PII 266MHz
    64MB RAM
    5GB drive
    Docking Bay w/floppy drive
    Removable CD-ROM drive for laptop
    10/100/modem Xircom network card
    Good battery
    Win2K SP4/IE6, current directx and media player, plus all MS security fixes
    Serial, USB, and PS2 ports (more on docking station)
    Carrying case
    Power supply
    DB9 Cable to use for the winALDL cable

    It's a bit slow, but it will do the job.

    Issues for full disclosure:
    SMALL crack in case, doesn't affect strength or operation

    "Fixed" networking issue. Take it with you travelling, check email, etc. :)

    You'll need to load whatever software you want for tuning/datalogging. Could probably load tunerpro and winaldl for you.

    It really runs pretty good, and as long as you are doing one thing at a time, it works great. (surprising what win2K will run on, and how well with very few things running in the background) Proven to work, hence the photo. :)

    I can offer another 64MB RAM for $20 additional.

    I've spent hours on this thing, hopefully it was worth it. For the price, you can't go wrong. $130.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2007
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    BTT, got the networking issue resolved, just finished updating all security fixes from MS, everything is current and ready to go. :)
     
  3. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Do you have the ALDL cable to go with it?
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    No, the white cable in the photo is the basis for one. The cable itself is the most expensive part of building the 160 baud (TBI mostly) winALDL cable. The rest of the pieces are about $3 from Radio Shack.

    It's not hard to build the cable, but it takes a bit of time, and I just can't spare any to build cables. :(
     
  5. Big91RustyBucket

    Big91RustyBucket 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Posts:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Lenox IL, Area (Chi-town Suburb)
    What is the thing in the middle between the laptop and case?
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Docking station. Although the laptop itself can have a standard monitor/keyboard/mouse hooked up (use it like a desktop machine) with a docking station, you can leave all the stuff like power cords, monitor, keyboard, mouse, USB devices hooked up in one spot, and simply eject the laptop when you need to go somewhere with it. It's "tall" at the back so you can set a monitor on it, plus the floppy drive (and all connections) are in that portion.
     
  7. Eric M.

    Eric M. 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    How does this differ from say an Auto X-Ray scanner? Can you do more?

    Thanks,

    Eric M.
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I've got an XP240 (think that's what it is, OBD1, not upgradeable) and the differences I'd say are the fact that the autoxray of my vintage can't store the data like a laptop can.

    You can see the same data, but with the scanner, you can't download that into a spreadsheet and see what's going on, like where you are getting knock, blm's, int, etc. You probably can on the newer scanners, but the old one like mine all you can do is look at the data at that moment in time, or "capture" one frame in time. Does that make sense?

    For an example (albeit somewhat poor due to what I believe was an ECM going south) http://www.moates.net/files/6)%20Miscellaneous%20Uploads/9jun04aldl.xls user/pass:moatesuser/moatespassword if it doesn't just let you in. Ignore the first columns with the "RAW" data, just save the spreadsheet (need excel) and delete those "RAW" columns. Just looking at the temp gauge, you can see it climb from idle and then stabilize about 185*. At the same time you can see how many gms/sec the MAF was seeing, where the throttle was (via TPS) etc. You just can't compare all of that with an older scanner. I don't recall why knock isn't showing, but I think it should be.

    If you want to look at what some really cool software looks like, for free, download tunerpro RT.
     
  9. MrArmyAnt

    MrArmyAnt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas, Kick a$$! (Grapevine, DFW; also Norman, OK)
    Anyway I get get just the tuning stuff? I'm an IT tech for OU.
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    BTT, would love to get rid of this thing. :)

    Tuning programs are freely available, yahoo search winaldl and tunerpro rt will get you the two I use.
     

Share This Page