Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Laptop to Headunit??

Discussion in 'Audio' started by sled_dog, Mar 12, 2006.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Does anyone know where to get a cable to go from a laptop to a head unit? Maybe using a cd changer input? I'm heavily considering spending a few bucks on an older laptop for an OBDII scan tool and use it for a sound system too. Namely I'd get a head unit in the truck, hook up a cable to the input and then I can have my mp3 collection with me on the go and play it through the sound system in my truck(which I hope to upgrade very soon).
     
  2. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    There are some decks that have aux inputs, and some Eq's have them also... A lot of the new ones are ipod compatible may want to check into it this way.....
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I thought about that but the price of an iPod as compared to a used laptop and the functionality of the laptop I don't really know if I want the iPod.
     
  4. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    My headunit has a aux input (Left and right RCA in's.) Can you get audio out RCA's on that laptop ?? If so, all you'd need is a simplle RCA patch cord.
     
  5. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    no you miss understood... not get an ipod, but use that kind of hook up!
     
  6. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Z3, I think he wants to control the laptop through the head unit.

    Sled...there's no easy way.
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    be simple enough too mount the lap top like the cops do. Use it for alot more then just playing audio files.
     
  8. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    You can also get a GPS unit for under 100.00 with software for the laptop , better graphics and a larger screen than an expensive standalone GPS .

    And as for stero files , heaphone jack to rca's :D

    I don't carry mine too often , too damn dusty here . Maybe when I get a new laptop the old one can run in the truck perma-mounted .
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    no. I want to mount the laptop like cops do and just use that instead of the head unit. Just use the headunit as a means of getting from the laptop to the speakers.

    I'd pull the laptop out all the time, it gets too damn cold to leave it in all the time.
     
  10. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Oh hell, that's easy.

    Get a headphone jack to RCA jack cord and hook the line out or headphone jack or whatever you have up to an input on the head unit. I do it all the time.
     
  11. ARAMP1

    ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Interesting.

    When I built my computer, I added a 200 Gig harddrive that is dedicated strictly for music. I've copied all of my CDs onto it. The harddrive is in a removable chassis and I was thinking about building an MP3 player where I could just pull the harddrive out of the computer, slip it into the MP3 player and I'd have all 1500 CDs for a roadtrip.
     
  12. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,682
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018


    That's a REALLY long road trip.
     
  13. dhcomp

    dhcomp 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    9,853
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Truckee, CA
    better get a mac laptop or plan on a kick ass sound card for a cheapy laptop...or its gonna sound like poo
     
  14. ARAMP1

    ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Memphis, TN

Share This Page