Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

large cubic inch small blocks....420 etc.... GURU'S Please ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by twenty_below0, Mar 31, 2003.

1. twenty_below0

twenty_below0 1/2 ton status

large cubic inch small blocks....420 etc.... GURU\'S Please ?

Planning to start the build up of a 400 in the next few weeks . So I'm wondering who has a large cubic inch small block in there rigs and how they went about the build . I have found a Scat 4.00 stroke crank on Ebay for 600.00 which is a Quality Crank and it says no block clearancing needed ? So with this crank and a decent set of rods I'm looking at 1000.00 . What should I go with the 4.00 crank or a 3.875 crank and then the rod length , would 6.00 or 5.7 be the way to go ? I'm not a stroker expert and I know there are reasons for going with either one of these and rod lengths . I have the 400 standard block and crank waiting for instructions at the machine shop /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif Also it is a 4 bolt so should I buy a set of splayed caps for it or just run the factory caps . The motor will be a ripper and twisted up to 7,500 regularly in the sand and mud . I know in the dirt track cars alot of people run 2 bolts for less rigidity and have less bottom end bearing problems them the 4 bolt motors . So coach me on this one guys what should I do to make a monster small block ? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. Lonnie

Lonnie 1/2 ton status

Re: large cubic inch small blocks....420 etc.... GURU\'S Please ?

Here are a few suggestions.

Big inch small blocks are nice, but not the economical way to go as far as $$ per HP.

The 4" stroke crank will require some work in a 400SB. The low deck height of a small block will limit rod length.