Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lawn Tractors - Garden Tractors - Edumacate me Please!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Fubeca, Sep 26, 2005.

1. Fubeca

Fubeca 1/2 ton status

So we have about 1 acre of gently sloping grass with few trees and a 85' by 26' driveway. So after 1 year of pushing a mower around, and shoveling the driveway - I'm ready for a change.

What should I be looking for in a riding mower? What about a snowblade? If I go used what should I be looking out for?

I'm pretty lost in the world of lawn tractors - is there an attachment for the K-5 that will mow the lawn? :haha:

2. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

Even though I'm young, I have some experience.

Get a model that you can get a lot of attachments for. Our OLD johne deere lawn tractor had a snow plow, snowblower, rototillar, lawnmower, and something else I think.

The snowplow blade on ours was really strong, we literaly ran into rocks, dirt piles with it at its highest speed to move the dirt, and it never bent the blade.

The lawnmower is good, make sure you get a wide one so its faster.

Get a comfortable seat-ours was old and used, it leaned and was hard foam. We had 1 acre of grass, and it hurt the butt after a while.

Good luck.

3. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

I just did a lot of research before I bought my lawn tractor a couple of months ago. I settled on a 17.5 HP Yardworks(made by MTD) powered by a Briggs and Stratton motor. It has a 42" cutting deck and can be equipped with a couple of different attachments. It also came with a 4 year warranty, which is double the industry standard. EVERYONE I talked to recommended a B & G engine, unless you are in the market for and can afford a John Deere or a Kubota.