Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lazy Man Paint Job

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by chalet2506, Jun 22, 2006.

1. chalet2506

chalet2506 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Need some help. I'm fixin to repaint my huntin wagon - 76' Chalet - and ordered in a gallon each of od green and flat black from Rapco Parts. I've got no experience. Anyway, I'm going to clean well with mineral spirits, then scuff it up with some 120 grit. I pick up a lot of brush scratches when I'm out and about, so I ordered a couple of spray cans each of the same color so I can touch it up as needed. Do I need to prime and can I use the same primer on the metal and fiberglass? Also, gonna go with od green truck, black camper with a green top on it. I'd welcome any opinions on that also.

5-25-2006-05.jpg

5-25-2006-3.jpg

2. 1985_K5_Silverado

1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

This doesn't address your question, but I salute the Chalet concept. :waytogo: If they'd built the K5 as a 3/4-ton (or better yet a 1-ton) truck, the factory K5 camper models might have been in the showrooms a few more years.

I like the camo idea, being nicely in theme with a hunting rig.

3. chalet2506

The truck drives like a hobbled water buffalo.It definetely needs heavier springs. I'm probably going to put new ones on next year after I finish all this cosmetic stuff. It still had the original shocks on it when I bought it. I replace them with Napa Heavy Duty ones on the front and some Monroe Air Shocks on the rear. That helped a lot.

4. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author