Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Left over part and engine surging?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by weisel, Apr 18, 2002.

  1. weisel

    weisel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Posts:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laveen, AZ
    I did a swap of a '70 350 into a '77 k5 and it runs. I am so happy, but confused also. First, I have a wire left over. It is about three feet long, red, thick (like the guage off of the alternator) and has an eyelet on each end. I can't find out where it goes. The truck runs and drives fine as far as I can see, but it puzzles me. Also, the engine surges at all speeds and I don't know what it might be. It is the same carb/ignition set up I had on my last engine and it worked fine then. Can anyone help me with the wire or surging problem.
     
  2. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    where is the wire located? Was it fastened to anything on either end? Need more input to answer that one.

    John
     
  3. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    The surging might be caused by a vacuum leak. Check the seal between the carburator and the intake manifold.
     
  4. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    Mine has a ground wire like that going from alternator bracket where negative cable is hooked up down to passenger side framerail.
     
  5. weisel

    weisel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Posts:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laveen, AZ
    No, when I got done doing the swap, the wire was laying in my parts pile all by itself. That would make sence that it is a ground wire from the alt. bracket to the frame rail (it is about that long), and because it dosn't seem to be hurting amything (all acc. work). Just curious, but why would they need that ground cable, and one more from the pass. head to the body? Wouldn't one be enough?
    And I'll check the gasket before I go home today and see what happens. But I was just thinking that could it be that my Q-jet is set up for a 400 (what use to be in it) and now i'm using it on a 350?
     

Share This Page