Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lengthen driveshaft or ZeroRate the axle forward?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by guido666, Nov 14, 2005.

?

What should I do to get 4WD back?

1. Lengthen short driveshaft ($250-$320)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. New HighAngleDriveline shaft ($300 shipped)

26.7%
  3. Shorten long driveshaft ($78-$124)

26.7%
  4. ORD ZeroRate Add-A-Leaves ($40 + shipping)

33.3%
  5. None. 4WD is for pansies.

13.3%
  1. guido666

guido666 1/2 ton status

I'm a broke college student, and after installing my lift, my front driveshaft is too short.

I talked about that here...
    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=154885

My neighbor got me a 4" longer driveshaft out of a '79 flareside. It's about 2" too long.

Should I have the long driveshaft shortened, the short driveshaft lengthened, get a new driveshaft made, or install a ORD ZeroRate so that I can just move the axle forward 1.5"/2"? Pro/cons would help too.

2. guido666

guido666 1/2 ton status

Or I could use the ZeroRate to move the axle forward, use the longer driveshaft, and get some more clearance for my 40" Boggers!

3. cbbr

cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

That sounds like a plan. :thumb:

4. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status

Ditto..... now break out the sawsall

5. guido666

guido666 1/2 ton status

The two shafts I have (one too short, one too long) look about the same design, and both '79. But the axle end on the long one is longer then the short driveshaft's. Do you think I could swap the ends and take 1.5" off the length? :confused:

6. miniwally

miniwally 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I would try combining parts and see what you get.
    It is only a front and you may not be able to go faster than 25mph or so in fourwheel drive but you will save $$ and get what you need.

7. guido666