Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

lift height and rear end

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by HelpMyZ, Mar 10, 2006.

1. HelpMyZ

HelpMyZ 1/2 ton status

ok, so I've done a little searching around and I'm trying to fit a set of 42/14/17 iroks on my truck... I'm THINKING that I can do it with an 8" lift and maybe a little trimming. any sugestions? also, I'm trying to find out what my rear end is... I know it's a 14 bolt, but I don't know if it's a full floater, or a 10.5 or whatnot... I'm pretty new to the 4wd world, so I'm not really sure what to look for to find out... I went on summit racings website, and from what I can tell I've got the 10.5 but I don't know... it's a 1987 GMC V3500... other than that I don't really know a whole lot about it.. it came with a manual transmission, and thats about all I know..dana 60 front end, I'm also kind of trying to figure out what gears are in it, is there any way of knowing?
    thanks for the help guys!!

Last edited: Mar 11, 2006
  2. sweetk30

sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

if its a dana 60 front then it 95% a full float rear 10.5. and most civilan trucks came 4.10 some odd balls were 3.73. then mill spec was 4.56 but few were in civilan also. there might be a tag on one of the front cover bolts with the ration or teeth counts.

also try this buddy.http://www.coloradok5.com/axleguide.shtml

3. HelpMyZ

HelpMyZ 1/2 ton status