Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

LIft Kit

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 76 jimmy Az, Mar 17, 2000.

1. 76 jimmy Az

76 jimmy Az Registered Member

HEy i am a newbie and i need some help on a lift kit. I have talked to a few of you and decided to get a 4 inches kit by Skyjacker or Tuff Country with front springs, but my question is? if i get that kit will i have to add a leaf in the back to fix the "sag" common on jimmys and if i have to how much is that going to cost. Thanx for you help

2. K5 NUTT

K5 NUTT 1/2 ton status

4" Front springs and 6" rear springs...or you will have to add 2" blocks with the 4" springs like me....learn from my mistake...do you have a friend who works at AutoZone on 43rd and Cactus by chance...???

AZBLAZER

1979 K5
    1976 K5 Chalet
    1972 K10 Suburban

3. AZK5

AZK5 1/2 ton status

I put a 4" spring in front and a 4" block in back with a long add-a-leaf ($25 each) in back. It sat perfectly level for months until I put a 12,000 lb Warn winch on the front. It sagged about 1/2" at the front wheel well. So I fabricated 1" longer stainless steel front shackles. Now it sits level again. The increased caster actually makes the truck drive better on the freeway. What ever you do "DON'T BUY FROM FOUR WHEELER SUPPLY". They don't stand behind any product they sell.
    CB

4. Steve88

Steve88 1/2 ton status

Wow, looks like this post is just for us AZ'ers!

OK. Let me ask something that's been bugging me. It you call it a 4" lift (or any lift for that matter) but you are raising up the back another 2" then is it a 4" lift or a 6" lift?