Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lift questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by nad, Apr 3, 2006.

1. nad

nad 1/2 ton status

I'm a newbie still, and just lifted my truck 4". I kind of want it a bit bigger still, but I am worried about having to extend the drive shafts. Is it possible and safe to lift it 6" without having to extend driveshafts?? I know brake lines will need to be extended, but that's not that big of a deal. Also, would I need to extend my steering arm or pitman arm at all???

Also, doesn't ORD make some kind of shackle that I can add that 2" of extra lift with, instead of actually buying a totally new lift?

Any information/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks very much.

Dan

2. protechk5

protechk5 1/2 ton status

I ran a 6" BDS lift with stock driveshafts. It worked fine, I could still flex it all the way out (as much as a 6" spring will flex) with no problems. But i was going through rear u joints like every 2 months or so. For brake lines I just got like stock 1992 chevy 3500 front lines, and moved the rear.

3. Masiony

Masiony 1/2 ton status

more than 4" usually means driveline modification. brake lines, shocks, everything will need to be changed. ORD makes a kit to flip the shackle and you can get it in 2.5" and 4" lift, DIY4x also makes the 4" kit, but better. you could also throw a zero rate in the front and get a little more there. but going to 6" will also require a few pieces to be changed in the steering.

and dont forget about body lift. most dont like them including myself, but you can run a 4" sus lift and 3" body lift and be ok on drivelines and things. and you will have that 7" look.

4. nad

nad 1/2 ton status