Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lift questions!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by NastyGMC, Jun 12, 2002.

1. NastyGMC

NastyGMC Registered Member

Hey all! I figure you guys get these questions all the time, but im new at this and have a few on lifts.

First of all, I want a 4 inch suspention, and a 3 inch body lift for my GMC. With a 4 inch suspention lift, would i have to extend drivelines? and what else would i have to extend? And i have Rancho RS1000 shocks(RS9000's on the way), would they work with it?
    For my body lift, i was looking at a performance accesories 3 inch lift. I read that with a body lift, the T-case shift linkage and steering collumn would have to be extended? Would they? and what else might?
    Thanks ahead for the info!

2. trailblazer87

trailblazer87 1/2 ton status

You should extend the drivelines, they will not quitew be long enough and could pull out during extreme flex. As for the body lift, 3" is marginal on extending the steering shaft, and you will probably run into some intersting problems on the T-case shifter. Your shocks will need to be longer than stock, the amount depends upon the amount of flex you have, you may need to move your shock mounts to fit in extreme situations. If you don't want to do this get some limiting straps. I have a 4" spring lift and have about 14" of travel in the front and 15" in the rear. Don't forgetthe extended brake lines and the longer drag link, andto also get steering box reinforcement at the frame.
    Good Luck and have fun!

3. NastyGMC

what is a drag link?

4. muddysub

muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

ok, with a 4" suspension lift, you'll have to change the steering arm and that should come with the kit, the drivelines will be fine.