Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lift Spring Wedge Direction.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by colbystephens, Nov 20, 2005.

1. colbystephens

colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

So I'm debating driving out to work on my k5 tomorrow, which is an hour away. I put my 4" lift springs on recently, and when I went to bolt up my 14bff this weekend, it seemed to me that I may have put my springs on backwards. I was thinking this b/c the fat end of the wedge underneath the overload is facing the front of the truck. I am still learning, but it would seem to me that this wedge is intended for maintaining a proper pinion angle. Can someone verify that this is accurate and that i do have it on backwards? Also, is it possible to simply spin this wedge around the center pin - i notice movement of the overload. Anyway, the reason I ask is I can't find someone to go with me to work on my truck tomorrow and I found that putting the springs in was a two person job. I don't want to drive all that way to find that I have to remove and reinstall the spring packs w/ out having a buddy along. thanks.

colbystephens.

2. Cornfield creations

Cornfield creations 1/2 ton status

The fat end of the wedge should always face to the outside of the truck, being front or rear. The goal is the tilt the pinion up. I am pretty sure that the springs have to be spun around, when I put my rear lift springs on I noticed they could go only one way. It shouldn't be too hard to do yourself if they are only bolted up on the spring mount and on the shackle. I believe it would be do-able alone. Unbolt the shackle, then the spring mount, spin it around and bolt up the spring mount then the shackle.

3. Big89Burban

Big89Burban 1/2 ton status