Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Limewire is killing my computer.

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 1-tonmudder, May 6, 2007.

  1. 1-tonmudder

    1-tonmudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a junkyard somewhere
    I downloaded limewire the other day and it has killed my computer.It never was super fast,but now it takes forever to open.We also cannot listen to songs before we download them.Do I need to adjust settings to get it to work right,or is Limewire just slow to start with.I know this might not the correct spot for this,but it will get your response here.I have compacted files and defragged but it's still slow.
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you have spyware or something, likely from downloading something you shouldn't have off of limewire. Limewire itself does use a good bit of resources when downloading, but pretty much nothing when its not, so something is wrong.

    Download the free version of AdAware : http://www.lavasoftusa.com/

    Bet you have good spyware on there.

    And you can't listen to music before you download it. Want something like that, go pay for your music.
     
  3. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    It loads your computer up with spyware. Get the adaware.
     
  4. BoondocK5

    BoondocK5 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    10,035
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Make sure that Limewire is not in your start up menu, move it in to its own folder in your music folder then when you want it just click and run it from where it resides. then it won't be running in the background.
     
  5. 87GMC

    87GMC 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Posts:
    653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, KS 66061
    Stupid question.
    How do I change what is on my startup menu?
    If it matters, I'm on windows XP.
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I've run Limewire forever now, no spyware issues related to it. Kazaa LOADS a computer with spyware, never could stand to use that for a split second.
     
  7. Craig Artzner

    Craig Artzner 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    You change what's on the startup menu by going to the "preferences" section of said program and deselecting the option usually referred to as "run XXX program on startup".

    I too have run Limewire for over three years with no problems. It's not Limewire itself that causes the slowdown. But harmful spyware may come from something you could have downloaded from there.
     
  8. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    start
    run
    msconfig
    click the startup tab on the left
    scroll down until you find "whatever" and uncheck the box.

    upon restart a dialog box will appear letting you know that you are running in diagnostic mode.check the "do not show me again" box.

    BTW do not use limewire or kazzaa.
     

Share This Page