Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Line Locks?

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ecameron87, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. ecameron87

    ecameron87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Tucson
    I do not have e-brakes and I am starting to feel very uncomfortable leaving my vehicle on hills especially while off road. The PO ripped the emergency brakes out completely. Has anyone tried using line locks? Are they reliable, and can I use it for an emergency brake?
     
  2. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I use www.mico.com Lever-Lock
    Here is a pic:
    [​IMG]
    Line locks are not to be used for extended periods of time as hydrolic line pressure fades out in time. I tested mine and it held over night just fine. But I would emagine in time the caliper seals would fail ealry if used all the time like an e-bake would be used when parked. The levr-lock I use has a low pressure warning switch that can be connected to a buzzer or light to warn you the hydrolic pressue is fading out.
    Hope this helps
    Burt
     
  3. ecameron87

    ecameron87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Tucson
    So do you use this just in moderation while out on the trail, or for other reasons? The PO did a rear disk conversion and didn't install calipers that had a parking brake to it. Would it be better for me to just replace the calipers?
     
  4. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Well if you want to use a parking brake for extened periods of time then yes I would find a way to get a cable actuated parking brake.
    I use my line lock all the time, even running into the store or while sitting on hte trail takin a brake, but the most important function is when I am in a tree footed situation on the trail. Like stoping on a steep hill, I set the brake and now my feet are free to work the throttle and clutch, one hand on the steering wheel and the other on the lever-lock...1..2..3...GO hahahaa
     
  5. ProJunkRacing

    ProJunkRacing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FrankFort IL
    how much did that cost you and was it easy to install?
     
  6. vtblazer

    vtblazer 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central VT
    You could install a drive line disk brake that would be cable actuated.
    I still need to bolt up the caliper but you get the idea.

    DCP_3387bigblazer.jpg
     
  7. 1967k10

    1967k10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska looking for D60's
    Does someone sell a kit for that driveline brake?
     
  8. vtblazer

    vtblazer 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central VT
    Yep, a couple vendors here do.

    That one is from High Angle Drive line
     
  9. 1967k10

    1967k10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska looking for D60's
    You mean Jesse right?
     
  10. ecameron87

    ecameron87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Tucson
    I don't mean to bring up an old post like this, but does anyone know another company other than HighAngleDriveline that has a Diveline E-brake kit?

    It looks like with the HighAngle's setup, I would need to change my rear driveshaft to a CV unit.
     

Share This Page