Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

LOC Question

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Resurrection_Joe, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    When using a line output converter do you splice into the speaker or change the connection from the speaker to the LOC

    What I mean to ask is, are the speakers you used for the LOC still hooked up or no, meaning do you need a tiny lil amp to power the speakers that you circumvented
     
  2. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    Holy piss, I was just about to post a question that somewhat has to do with LOC's....
     
  3. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Hmmm hopefully someone will shine on down
     
  4. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    I'm about to go hook up an LOC I bought today while at work... I'm assuming all I need to do is hook up the speaker wires the way the instructions say and all will be well... I'll let you know if the speakers I use still work after I hook up my amp :D
     
  5. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
  6. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    Okay, here's what I got...

    Take the speaker wire, and cut it... connect both pieces that you just cut to the wire for the LOC, and tape them up... Do that for the positive and negative wires for both speakers you're going to use...

    Then do the same 3-way style connection for the constant power, ground, and power when the stereo is on...

    Easy enough... Now if I could just figure out why in the name of God my amp isn't getting power, when there's power going to it :( :(
     
  7. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    I ended up buying a $80 wiring harness to dump a pioneer deck in my Malibu

    I am such a consumer whore
     
  8. Capman2k

    Capman2k 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dg
    Yes... You are quite the whore...
     

Share This Page