Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

locker question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Boondock, Feb 25, 2001.

1. Boondock

Boondock Registered Member

I went out with a friend this weekend to a place in Northern Virginia (Dumphries), the trails were pretty challenging, and there was a guy out there in a J@@p Cheroke. He had ARB air lockers. I heard a lot of hissing when he engaged them from a switch in the dash. I couldn't believe the stuff he made it through, he attributed his success to his ARB. I see alot on here about lockers, and I gotta be honest, I'm really new to the 4x4 world. Can anyone tell me what lockers do, how they work, any information about them? What are detroit lockers? they seemed to be a great mod to invest in. How much do they cost? How much work is involved in installing them? Thanks for any information, just trying to get educated.

The only easy day was yesterday.
    Second place is a body bag.

2. BlazerGuy

BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

This will tell you anything and everything you want to know about diff's
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.howstuffworks.com/differential.htm>http://www.howstuffworks.com/differential.htm</A>
    It also includes a section on lockers and limited slips.

Murphy's Laws on Life :
    "Leftover nuts never match leftover bolts." [​IMG]

3. thatK30guy

thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

Very good. Couldnt have said it better myself.

4. 84K5WITHAJUNK305

84K5WITHAJUNK305 Registered Member