Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lockers? Which ones?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84gmcjimmy, Feb 17, 2004.

1. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

Hey, Im new to the 4x4 world and haven't yet boughten and lockers. So here it goes: Whats the difference between a limited slip and a locker? And also I have 14b rear and D60 front, What lockers should I put in. Ill have around 35-38" tires from interco. If you could give me a few examples and tell me why you chose that one would be great. I will be driving this most day's on-road too. But it takes abuse off-road so I need something good. Front and rear. Thanks!
    Steve /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

For the rear, Detroit Locker !!! The Detroit Locker is one of they best you can get in my opinion, and fairly cheap. Front, I would want a ARB air locker to make steering easier. Can be hard with a front locker from what I hear. I can't say for sure sence I've never had a locker up front.

3. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

What kind of detroit locker? I was looking at 4wheel parts and theres like 3 or 4 different ones? help! And Do I need to buy the ARB air compressor to work the air locker? Or what??/forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

4. Okiemuddog

Okiemuddog 1/2 ton status

Paul is right, I just went from a Detroited D44 to an open D60, the D44 was a pain to turn in 4WD, I am going with an ARB when I get the $$$$

5. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned