Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Lockright??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by hunterguy86, Jul 21, 2005.

1. hunterguy86

hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

I'm building on a budget as I am a college student. What is yalls opinon on the lockright? I'm thinking of putting it in the front of my stock 86 k5. 305/700r4/208 w/ 10 bolts front and rear. I'm running 31x10.50x15 AT tires and it goes pretty dang well in the mudd for a stock rig. However I do seem to get the 3 wheel peel at times due to the open diff in the front. I plan to keep the gov loc until i blow it up as I have had zero trouble with it.

Have any of yall used a lockright in the front. Pros? Cons? Street manners?
    What can I expect to be the weak link in my axle if I put it in?
    This is my daily driver as well. And I do have manual hubs if that plays a part in this discussion.

Future plans are 4in lift w/ 35x12.50x15 MTs of some sort.

Thanks for the time yall,

Dustin

2. MNorby

MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

I have a loc right in my 60 front and it works well. Sometimes hard to turn on hardpack but that is to be expected. I have *heard* that a loc-right in d44/10 bolts don't hold up as well because of the lack of material to build it to fit that carrier but I am not for sure.

3. stallion85

stallion85 1/2 ton status

My bud has a loc-rite in his 10 bolt w/ 35's on his K5. He wheels it hard and it has held up fine so far......

Easy to install too. I say go for it until you plan on upgrading axles if you are in fact going to later.

4. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Lockright good ( grunting ) :D

I have no problems driving with one in the rear daily .