Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

lockrite?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by francis, Jan 18, 2006.

1. francis

francis Registered Member

hey folks. I am still learning so help me out here. I understand that a posi or locker is an awesome thing to have but I have always been told that you couldn't have one in the front unless you didn't care about turning any more. the more I look around this site the more I see people puting a lockrite in the front. so what is a lockrite? is it like a limited slip locker? is it made just for the front? can you turn with it? as always much regard and thanks:bow:

2. jk3078

jk3078 1/2 ton status

The lock-rite is a true locker not a limited slip. It is a locker that replaces the spider gear-side gears in your stock carrier. The lock-rite does un-lock when turning so would be fine for a front axle.

3. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

I have a lockrite in the front. And have been running one for years. As said in previous post it is a lockrite locker not a LS it is a true locker. The only time it unlocks is if you dont have power to the axle and are going around a corner. Soon as you hit the gas it locks up. It definatly has steerring issues like torque steer and makes a lot of noisr pops and clunks. When in 4x4 I usually run with 1 hub locked and the other unlocked. So it steers easer, does not bind up and is not so hard on my por old 10 bolts. I lock the other hub in when i really need traction. I am also locked in the back (Detroit).
    For slow going thru poor traction/Deep stuff/ hardcore climbing offroad A locker in the front/rear cant be beat. My k5 is almost unstopable.