Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Long Electrical Rant.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Iron_Weasel, Apr 30, 2005.

1. Iron_Weasel

Iron_Weasel Registered Member

[/rant]
    So here's the story...I bought a 1979 K10 about a month ago and one of the problems the seller told me of was that the fuel gauge on the dash didn't work. I deal with electrical stuff on a fairly frequent basis (I'm a service tech. for a Dodge dealership..yeah, I know.) and I wasn't terribly worried about fixing a non-working gauge.

I've been slowly fixing the electrical in the engine bay, most of which was somewhat "repaired" at some point during the life of the truck. I found the usual "strip wires, twist together, wrap electrical tape around wire, call it done" wiring job done to some wires along with random colors spliced into other colors. So after getting all the correct color wire from work, I finally go out this afternoon and wire all the stuff in the engine bay with the factory correct colors and a more secure repair connection (crimp to hold in place, solder wire strands, shrinkwrap whole splice, then electrical tape over that), I move on to the wiring under the truck.

This is where the fun begins.....
    Trusty dugital multi-meter in hand, I begin tracing wires to find out why the fuel tank selector valve and fuel gauge don't work. All the wires are good up to the crossmember between the cab and bed. I have continuity, low resistance, and voltage where it should be.
    Go and check the valve (which should have voltage) and find no voltage there. Turns out it's an open circuit.
    Start peeling back the crusty layers of electrical tape already there and what do I see?