Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

longer e-brake cables?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ECNiz, Nov 5, 2000.

  1. ECNiz

    ECNiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I just put a 4" lift on my 72 Blazer. I put on longer
    stainless brake lines and those seem to work good, but
    I haven't changed my e-brake cables. They look like they
    are not long enough. Is there any place where I can buy
    a longer cable (the part that goes from the axle just up to
    the frame in the back) ?
     
  2. Goose

    Goose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Central Kansas
    I don't know about the cables, but on my '73 there is a good deal of adjustment where the two rear cables come together at the cable going to the e-brake lever. My 4" lift works just fine with the e-brake. Maybe the '72 is a different design.

    Cruisin in my '73.
     
  3. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    I made some drop brackets to fit the 6" lift on mine. Only needed to drop the bracket that holds the steel loom about 3 inches.

    <font color=blue>Maverick</font color=blue> <font color=red>CH 4 or 35</font color=red>
     
  4. ECNiz

    ECNiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    do you have the e-brake cable routed under the leaf spring
    or over?
     
  5. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    For my 77 model I got 2 cables at Advance Auto Parts for a 1976 Ford Extended cab F100. I had to weld a washer to the tab on the frame, because the Ford cables needed a smaller hole so they would clip in. They clipped in on both ends just like they do on the wheel end.

    Does that make sense to you?

    Depdog

    <font color=blue>"Lead, Follow, or BECOME the Trail"</font color=blue>

    http://depdogsk5.coloradok5.com
     
  6. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I too have adjusted mine out to the loges adjustment possiable.It seams ok but still want to get more slack back there. Here is a site that may help http://www.controlcables.com I will eather try to relocate my exsisting cables or just find something like what Dep did to make it work!
    Good luck

    72K5[​IMG]Led Zeppelin[​IMG]Rock ON![​IMG]
    http://www.burt4x4.coloradok5.com
     
  7. ECNiz

    ECNiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I can't do a drop bracket because I have my exhaust exiting
    from the side of my blazer, so I have to route the brake
    line on a hook over the pipe, that's why I need it longer.
     
  8. 1HIHUM

    1HIHUM 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2000
    Posts:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Try moving the brackets back, towards the rear of the truck. Adjust some of the slack from the adjuster rod, and move the rods that pull the cables toward the sides of the truck to gain as much extra slack as possible. I put an eight inch lift on my 72, and switched to a 14bolt at the same time. I made new brackets for the cable housing to mount to. These were mounted at the rear spring hanger. Then I got enough slack out of the front half of the cables to connect everything. Hope this helps!
     

Share This Page