Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Looking for a welder

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rampage, May 15, 2001.

1. rampage

rampage 1/2 ton status

I have some welding projects lined up and need some input on a welder. I have no experience welding so the type that I buy needs to be easy to use (MIG, TIG, etc). I plan on doing some frame repairs (the infamous steering box crack), body work and roll cage. I don't plan on welding anything thicker than 1/4 inch plate. What I need is something that would be easy to use and good quality. I REALLY prefer something that will run off of 120V since I don't have a 220V outlet available and I don't want to use gas either. Any suggestions? Also would like some suggestions on where to learn to weld correctly, something besides trial and error.

2. plk33

plk33 Registered Member