Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

looking for spring recommedations...newbie question

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by k5-newbie, Jul 7, 2004.

1. k5-newbie

k5-newbie 1/2 ton status

Jun 19, 2004
    I have done extensive reading on this site since becoming a member and I still have a question about springs. I would like to run 4" of lift and maybe a 36 or 37" tire. I am extremely new to this sport (only had the blazer for about a month now), and I would like some flexy springs and am not sure if I need to order a custom spring or if a mass produced spring is the way to go. I have read good things about the tuff country EZ rides, but have also heard mention of Alcan and National.

Stephen, you seem to be the local authority around these parts /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif and I know this is kinda vague, but I would like to hear what you suggest. The K5 is completely bone stock at the moment and I have plans to change the axles to 1 tons soon but would like to get the lift knocked out first.

Thanks for the help in advance

2. Stephen

Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

Sep 15, 2000
    It really comes down to how much you want to spend and if you're willing to do much custom work yourself. One extreme is a TCI front spring with a flip or 4" spring in the rear with all the goodies for around $1200, depending of course on your definition of "all the goodies".

The other extreme is a spring set we just set up for a guy building a pre-runner type K5 with stretched front and rear springs at around $1300 for the springs alone.