Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

looking to buy a k5...need advice.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by leeinmemphis, May 13, 2003.

1. leeinmemphis

leeinmemphis Newbie

Hey guys,

I am looking to possibly get a k5 blazer 4x4 for weekend transportation and hunting/fishing. I have a company vehicle that I can drive during the week so my blazer will primarily be a weekend/evening vehicle. I have a farm that I do alot of work on during the weekends. I was wondering if you guys could give me a little advice on what to look for when purchasing a k5? What was the last year of the carburated engine? I am not experienced with computers and fuel injection and would like to stay away from that if it is possible. Also are there any problem areas that need to be addressed(rust, weak spots, etc)? I am in need of a blazer that will end up with 35" tires and a 350 motor. I need the 35's for ground clearance on the farms we work on and hunt and the 350 will help out when towing four wheelers and my john boat....although I'm sure I'll end up needing gears before it is all said and done. Any information/advice is greatly appreciated.

-lee-

2. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author