Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

make a single outlet a dual outlet??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by pismorat, Feb 28, 2005.

1. pismorat

pismorat 1/2 ton status

I have a 3" in, 3" out flowmaster 3-chamber muffler. I run Doug Thorley headers and no cat. The muffler has the outlet on the right side with a spot on the left that looks like it is for another outlet. Could I use a hole saw and cut out the spot and weld on another turn-down? I want it to be louder and free-er flowing, this would be a cheaper alternative to getting a 2-chamber or a 1-chamber. Any thoughts, or does anyone have a 1 or 2 chamber muffler that they don't want anymore??:D :truck:

2. Guss

Guss Registered Member

why not run straight pipes

3. pismorat

pismorat 1/2 ton status

I still want a decent sound without pissing off the cops (and neighbors), plus I like the low end torque of my 406.:truck:

4. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Sell that muffler and get a dual outlet mufler already to go . You don't want to chance ruining the one you have . The reason it appears you can put one there is they use simmilar cans for many different mufflers , they are a big business , this cuts down costs . The internal baffling is what is different from muffler to muffler within the same size and style case . You may change their flow patterns by opening up that hole :k5: :k5:

5. Jonny-K5

Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

what he said. even tho the cans might look the same. it will almost definatly have a different baffle arrangement inside.

i've got a 2 chamber flowmaster on my truck. its not loud enough for me. i've tried it with and without a cat. its a little louder w/o the cat, but smells like more raw fuel in the exhaust. didnt like it. im thinking of going with a magnaflow.