Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Making Diesel Power

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by trailblazr81, Oct 5, 2006.

1. trailblazr81

trailblazr81 1/2 ton status

OK, so my cousin and I have decided our next trucks will be diesel's. He wants short bed, Im thinking crew cab long bed. The reasons are more power, longevity/durability, and increased milage. Im kinda new to oil burners and have a few questions since last time I delt with one they were slow and spewed black smoke. Can I really make an extra 125 HP and 250 ft/lbs. torque by bolting on an exhaust kit, adding an air intake, and using a tuner/chip? What do you people do to make near 500 HP and 800-900 pounds torque? What type of mileage do you get? And does it spew black smoke? I want to add power with "bolt ons" and not add stuff like propane injection. We dont plan to haul 18,000 pounds just a boat to the lake, maybe a camper, and a horse or two.

Thanks!!

Also if anyone could recomend a good place to read up on diesels. How they work, best ways to add power, increase mileage, etc.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2006
  2. Goose

Goose 1/2 ton status

3. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

4. trailblazr81

I think I remember you saying in another thread your truck puts out like 500 HP and 900 pounds torque??

5. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

Newer Diesels (Cummins , Powerstrokes, Duramax's) can definitly get BIG power gains (50-150+ HP) from a computer or injectors. Exhausts and intakes can add some decent power numbers also. 89-98 12 valve Cummins motors are mechanical (no computers) but can still get some BIG HP numbers threw fuel plates & injectors, etc.