Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Making new timing mark on balancer

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85mudblazin, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I have always timed the truck by ear since I have a 12:00 balancer mark with a 2:00 tab.
    But I got to thinking, why cant I just put it a TDC and draw a new mark onto the balancer to use the 2:00 timing tab??
     
  2. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Yes sir.
    what you need is a postive piston stop. i think summit carries one that you can screw in the head where the spark plug goes.
    Then you carefully spin over the engine until it stops.
    Scribe a mark at your timing pointer. (or at 0)
    Then carefully spin the engine over the other way until it comes to a stop again. scribe another mark.
    Split the difference. (1/2 way in between your two scribe marks is EXACT TDC.)

    happy new year. :wink1:
     
  3. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I have the heads off so it will be real easy to see TDC.
    Mark the timing pointer or balancer. Spin it to TDC and make mark on balancer. Spin the other way to TDC and mark again on balancer. Then split the difference?
     
  4. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Yes,
    you will either need a positive piston stop, or a dial indicator. then split the difference.
    You cannot just eyeball where TDC is.
     
  5. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Got it, thanks.
     
  6. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    No prob.

    Not to confuse you but if you use the dial indicator method you could just find the highest reading...
    but to be more accurate.. say for example if the highest reading you get on the dial indicator is .650", mark the point on the balancer at .600" before and .600" after TDC and split the difference. :thumb:

    If you understand this, you can degree in a cam. :D
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    He could even by a stick on tape once he finds it , with more degrees than a stock one , and would be better than a homemade mark .
     
  8. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Probably a good idea if you don't have an adjustable timing light.

    The only engine i have that requires the timing to be set, (Gen IV BBC)...
    I just have a pointer, and a mark for TRUE TDC on the balancer.
    Thats it.
    I use an adjustable timing light, adjusting it until the mark on the balancer lines up with the pointer.. Then the timing light tells you how many degrees your at.
    :wink1:
     
  9. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I already got the heads back on so it looks like the piston stop would be the best method. But after looking at them it looks like all of them are adjustable, so how do you know when its exactly TDC??

    Also whats the point of spliting the difference?
    On a truck with the correct balancer and tab, when the balancer line is at 0* on the tab isnt it at TDC??
     
  10. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    In theory it should be, but if you are building a high performance engine, or have stroked it, etc. It could be a degree or two off.
    My big block is just a hair maybe a degree off from the stock mark on the balancer in relation to where my aftermarket pointer is.
    Marking say .050" down in the hole on either side of TDC and splitting the difference will get you EXACT.
    These are just a few tips i've learned building a race engine.

    Adjustable, as in you can adjust the depth the piston stop screws into the spark plug hole?
    You know it is at Exactly TDC by the method i described in an earlier post...
    Spin over the engine very carefully until it stops on the piston stop. scribe a mark on the balancer. Now spin the engine over the other way until it stops. scribe a mark.
    Exactly half way between those marks is EXACT TDC.
     
  11. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    if you've got the heads off, why not remove the timing chain cover and replace it with one with a matching timing mark? eliminate all the guesswork. :dunno:
     
  12. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Because I would have to pull the whole front of the engine off, radiator/fans which I really dont want to do.
    Would be easier to just replace the balancer which I will probably end up doing.

    The heads are already back on so im just going to time it by ear or with the vacuum guage.
     
  13. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    OOO I get it now, I was way off:doah:
    Yea that sounds simple I can make one from a old spark plug.
    Thanks for the help
     
  14. 76zimmer

    76zimmer Flyin Rat Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23,031
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Location:
    Kzoo, Mi
    Wow, dude, so your not going to do any of this? :doah: Its really not that big of a deal to do with the piston stop method.
     
  15. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    For some reason i read threads backwards so I read beater's post first. But after reading Ryan's im going to make my own pistion stop out of a old spark plug.

    Chill out dude:D
     
  16. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    its less than 25 bolts to get it off, with more than half of them being on the cover itself. 4 on the fan, 4 on the pump, one for the balancer, and whatever the cover has in it. if something is worth doing, its worth doing right. it'll make it SO much easier to retime it later too.
     
  17. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Why when I can spend $7 for a piston stop and be done in about 10 minutes?
    Where as I would have to spend money for anti-freeze, gaskets, and a new cover. Not to mention the time and mess that comes with pulling all of that off.

    And how is it going to make it easier to time? I can see the 2:00 tab 10x better then where the 12:00 one would be.
    Not to mention the new mark would be very accurate.
     

Share This Page