Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

manual lockup switch on a 700

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jcg, Mar 18, 2001.

  1. jcg

    jcg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Posts:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I know people put switches in to manually lock up the torque converter for towing and other heavy load applications but what about for normal driving? If you locked it the entire time your driving around, it would stall the engine when you stopped wouldn't it? I figured that if you shifted in and out of drive when you stopped, you could get much more power off a line or for yanking on a tow strap... basically drive it like a standard. This is just an idea I had kicking around and I figured I'd see if any of our resident tranny experts had any advice.

    Thanks


    Joe
    RIT Mini-Baja http://www.rit.edu/~bajawww
    Team Mudnuts http://www.mudnuts.org
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You'll probably just break the lockup mechanism. It wasn't designed to take the abuse of acceleration. On the TBI trucks, the converter unlocks as soon as the throttle position sensor senses a 2% increase in throttle, to protect the lockup unit. Plus you'd be losing the torque multiplier of the torque converter if you locked it while yanking folks out of the mud. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  3. jcg

    jcg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Posts:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Well, I guess that answers my question, thanks! I kind of figured that would be the case, or everyone would be doing it already. I completely forgot about the torque multiplier of the converter. One of these days I'll take the time to read up on auto trannies but it probably won't be until classes are over. It's going to be so relaxing to have a nice full time job, I won't know what to do with all the spare time!!

    Oh wait, yes I will... GO WHEELING!!! [​IMG]

    Joe
    RIT Mini-Baja http://www.rit.edu/~bajawww
    Team Mudnuts http://www.mudnuts.org
     
  4. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    As soon as the tranny shifts out of 4th gear the lock-up disengages,even with a manual lockup.Well actually depends on how it's wired.I've got a TCI built 700 in my 71 Blazer.They put in a wire kit that allows manual controll of the lock-up.You can wire it so the lock-up engages in 4th only or in 2nd,3rd +4th if you want.I only use 4th gear on the freeway so I've wired it up to lock-up in 4th only.

    [​IMG]<font color=green>BobK<font color=green>
     

Share This Page