Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Manual on the Rocks

Discussion in 'Rocky Mountain Region' started by Hossbaby50, Aug 12, 2003.

1. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

Sep 1, 2001
    After dealing with my auto trans lately in my 85 I was possibly thinking about putting a manual in my next truck. I have been driving my dads CJ5 around with a manual for the last 3 months and I have gotten to liking it. I want to know opinions and experience with a manual on the rocks. I imagine I would probably need a hand throttle, but that shouldn't be a hard rig up. Also how deep of gearing do I need? I know the auto guys with doublers are around 40:1 plus the torque converter (80:1).

I am thinking about running a SM420 2wd trans (7.05 1st gear) and then running a divorced 205 case and 4.56 gears. Would this be deep enough or do I need more with a manual?

Also anyone have any possible input on the dual Transmissions. (SM420/465, 420/420, 465,465) I think this would be rather trick. You would have so many gearing options it wouldn't be funny. Stupid low all the way to high range.

How well will a manual do on the AZ rocks?

2. marv_springer

marv_springer 1/2 ton status

Aug 3, 2001
    Some folks swear by a good "granny" tranny. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif And if set up w/ the proper ratios, it can have advantages over the auto - the largest being downhill control. That being said, your crawl needs to be low. I'd guess that a minimum of 100:1 crawl ratio would be desired for a rig that'll spend most of its time in the rocks...

The way I see it, Pro's of a manual:
    - can't hardly blow it up
    - compression braking
    - can push start

And Cons:
    - frame/body twist can hose up clutch/shifter linkage
    - can seem "jumpy/jerky" compared to an auto when crawling