Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Manual Transmission

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by kittykat4, Sep 26, 2006.

1. kittykat4

kittykat4 Registered Member

:laugh: Hey guys, I just purchased a 1986 Chevy K5 Blazer 4x4 with manual transmission. I have a few questions ok? 1. will this thing be difficult to drive? and 2. does anyone have a manual trans blazer? and do you like it?

this is my first project truck and i am curious to know what you guys think i should do. I read a lot of articles from 4wheel parts and i plan on painting this toy bright orange with black rims and tires.

any input would be great. i will be posting photos of her this weekend!!!:wink1:

2. PsychoticDeadGuy

PsychoticDeadGuy 1/2 ton status

Do you like shifting gears? I had a 700R4 in my K5 but swapped in a SM465 and I love it. It does get a little irritating because you cant shift fast, its like driving a school bus. But you have the power when you need it and they are indistructable!!! I would swap in a racing cluth if you have bigger tires or are planning on some large meats, I have a Centerforce racing clutch and the hydro pedal is pretty stiff but its worth it. When I let out that pedal, I am gonna GO!! No slipping or burnt clutches anymore...good luck!

3. Chevy305

Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Congrats!!! :waytogo:

A stick isn't hard to drive but its not for everyone. I drive my 85 K10 with the same trans on a daily basis. If you are not used to it, it almost feels like you are driving a school bus. :crazy:

Also I dig the orange paint!

4. kittykat4

well i do ride a 2004 gsxr 750 crotch rocket so i know how to shift but have never done it in a car yet.

thanks for the info

5. PsychoticDeadGuy

PsychoticDeadGuy 1/2 ton status