Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Marvel Mystery Oil!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Blazin Ed, Jul 15, 2003.

1. Blazin Ed

Blazin Ed Registered Member

Got a stuck lifter sounding pretty loud... A friend suggested pouring some Marvel Mystery Oil down the crankcase to free it up. I've never used it before so I'm turning to the K5 guru's to give me their take on this. Have any of you used this to free up a lifter? I'm selling this soon so I'm looking for a short term solution..

Ed

2. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> That stuff freed up a sticky lifter on my old Toyota real fast. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif </font>

3. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

The stuff is great. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif I use it as a gas additive when I am going to do a long tow. It Almost smells good enough to drink /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    I also throw a quart in the crankcase in all the engines I build for the break in period.

4. RootBreaker

RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

i had 3 valves stuck... pured down carb... while running.... it was nice.... smoked like hell but freed them up....

5. Blazin Ed

Blazin Ed Registered Member

How much of this stuff should I use in the 350? Should I change the oil once the lifter frees up?

6. 88Silverado

88Silverado 1/2 ton status

The amount to use is normally listed on the container.
    You do not need to change the oil after adding it.
    I believe the stuff was first made back in the WWII days to reduce friction of oil to allow the old piston fighter aircraft to obtain more power in climb conditions.

I have used it for years, it good stuff for keeping engine components clean.

7. Pookster

Pookster 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]