Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Mechanical speedo to vss?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big83chevy4x4, Mar 7, 2003.

  1. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    do they make someting to screw onto the mechanical speedo to convert it to electrec. I blew the tranny and i got another one from a junk yard but it was mechanical speedo (the only one i could find, anywhere). i thought that i could just pull the tail shaft and swap the stuff over. WRONG. the tail shaft is also different. i would use the one off the junk tranny but it is just that, junk. the tail shaft is all ground up on where one of the shafts ride. this thing is really pissing me off /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gifPLEASE HELP /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
  3. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,081
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    2wd or 4wd? All of the GM 4wd's I've seen have the speedo output on the t-case. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    its a 2wd
     
  5. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,081
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    I think read that Painless Wiring offers some conversion stuff, but I'm not sure.
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I got an adapter for mine from www.howell-efi.com They have an adapter that screws onto the transfer case and sends the correct signal to the ECM. They'll just need to know what year the engine and computer are from to set you up with the right part. Other places that sell them are www.painlesswiring.com and www.jagsthatrun.com /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. yeild2me

    yeild2me 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fayetteville, nc
    I have the one from painless....Its brandnew still in the package. I will take a loss at 75.00 (regularly around 100.00) plus shipping.

    Let me know if you are interested. Search for prices and you will see what kind of a deal this is!!!

    Rob
     
  8. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    thanks alat guys i will se what i can find. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    yeild2me you have a pm waiting
     
  9. yeild2me

    yeild2me 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fayetteville, nc
    TJ...

    Is your speedo in your S-10 electric or mechanical??

    If you need it to run the computer...no prob it will work. I dont think it will run your speedo (I am pretty sure your 89 has a mechanical speedo).

    You also have a PM>

    Rob
     
  10. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    it origally had a electric speedo i blew the tranny and the only one i could find cheap enough was one that has a mechanical speedo. i was going to swap the stuff over but the tail shaft is different. the tail shaft on the tranny the that blew is all chewed up.

    so that adapter won't run the speedo just the computer?
     
  11. yeild2me

    yeild2me 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fayetteville, nc
    Will, Actually, Im not 100 percent sure. I bought it to make mine work, but I got the proper tailshaft housing, and it turns out my SPEEDO doesnt work.

    The part number is Painless #60115 if ya want to research it.

    Rob
     
  12. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    im not going to need it. i found a tailshaft for $15 buck. Thanks anyway.
     
  13. yeild2me

    yeild2me 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fayetteville, nc
    Man,,,I wasnt thinking...I have the rest of the truck I used my cab for out back and was looking at it today and saw that I could prolly sell the tailshaft to ya...700r4 behind a 4.3 2wd.

    Glad you got the parts you needed.

    Rob
     
  14. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    its not a 700r4, its borg-werner t-5 5 speed. it going back together tonight.

    i have 3 out of 4 vechicles down right and i need to get them done. the funny thing is 2 of them are tranny problems and the other is motor and tranny problem.

    Thanks anyway though.
     
  15. K5thatShmobs

    K5thatShmobs 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Posts:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Is there a way to go from a vss on the t-case to a mechanical speedo cable?
     
  16. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i believe there is but it costs like $300
     
  17. yeild2me

    yeild2me 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fayetteville, nc
    Yes.....swap out the housing and gear....Marshall and I just did this last week. The gear that drives the VSS slid right on where my speedo gear was and the housing bolted right up. Just for your info, I swapped my 1989 Mechanical for his 90-91 VSS. you only need to swap the housing the VSS/Speedo is in not the "tail shaft" housing.

    Hope this helps..

    BTW--Nice to have see ya <font color="orange"> orange , brother!!!
     

Share This Page