Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Mechanical Tranny Temp Gauge In 700R

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by dawson444, May 8, 2001.

  1. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I got an autometer tranny temp gauge to put in my 700. I took it to the guy who rebuilt my 700 today to get him to do some things, as well as put in the sensor for the gauge. He said he didn't know if he would be able to find a place in the pan where the sensor could stick in enough w/o hitting anything. Anyone got any advise? Thanks!

    Dawson
    Raleigh, NC

    88 K5, 4" lift, 33" BFG muds
     
  2. Oblin Goblin

    Oblin Goblin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Posts:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    I put a sender in the pan on mine and it did interfear with the shift linkage inside the pan. Didn't find out until the shop tried to put the pan back on. What they did was put an elbo pipe fitting in the pan, one that expanded so that it could screw into the pan and accept the sensor on the other end. My only concern is that it is hanging off the tranny quite a bit and the fluid in the elbo may be cooling down so that I'm not getting a good reading. I've heard that the best place for a sender is in the out line from the transmission to the cooler. You might want to try that if you can.
     
  3. prjt_blzr

    prjt_blzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    COS, CO
    I used an external engine oil filter in the output line of my TH400. This gives you a big fliter and the mounting head gives you a place to screw the temp sensor into. Summit sells these for about $20 and they will work on any auto trans. Just make sure that you use the four port design for the adapter. I bought mine for a chevy engine so that the trans and engine use the same filter. The hardest part was finding a good place to mount the filter. I put mine up near the radiator on the frame.
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    If you can find an adapter, put the sender in one of the pressure test fitting ports on the side of the tranny. They will be plugged by a square headed bolt.



    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  5. Itali83

    Itali83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Posts:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westbrook Maine
    I got the exact same guage for my 700. I haven't put it in yet but I got a T fitting, with a reducer on each end and I will some day put it in the line going to the cooler. It is kinda big and bulky but it was the only way I could think of doing it with out having to get really custom. I haven't put it in yet so I can't tell you how well it works but that was my idea. (Boy I hope it works) lol [​IMG] Hope this helps.
    Ben 87 Jimmy
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.bens87toy.coloradok5.com>http://www.bens87toy.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  6. Itali83

    Itali83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Posts:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westbrook Maine
    I got the exact same guage for my 700. I haven't put it in yet but I got a T fitting, with a reducer on each end and I will some day put it in the line going to the cooler. It is kinda big and bulky but it was the only way I could think of doing it with out having to get really custom. I haven't put it in yet so I can't tell you how well it works but that was my idea. (Boy I hope it works) lol [​IMG] Hope this helps.
    Ben 87 Jimmy
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.bens87toy.coloradok5.com>http://www.bens87toy.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Not talking about the cooling lines, I personally don't like the idea of cutting into them if I don't have to. (although my car has an aux. trans cooler in it) There are pressure test fittings on the side of the tranny. They are square plugs. All you'd have to do is get an adapter from those threads (if they are even different) to the sender threads, and screw it in.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  8. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Where could I get an adapter for that? Thanks!

    Dawson
    Raleigh, NC

    88 K5, 4" lift, 33" BFG muds
     
  9. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,084
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I did this, but I used what was supposed to be an engine temp gauge. The only difference between them is the size of the sender. I already had a drain plug in the back of my transmission pan, so I enlarged that and mounted a fitting in the hole that would accept the sender. Now to drain the oil, I just remove the sender.

    There are three ways to measure the transmission temp.
    -pan
    -oil send
    -oil return

    The pan is generally considered to be the best all around measurement for safe operating temperature. Anywhere that the sender is dunked in pan oil is fine. The hottest measurement will be the oil send line, as that is oil coming directly out of the torque converter. It will be especially hot if you don't have a lock up converter. That is where most of the heat will come from. However, you can hit 250 degrees on that line without bringing the pan over 160 if you have a good cooler. Generally you just need the pan temperature. B&M recommends putting a line sender on the return line (cool) instead of the send line (hot). Personally, I run one in the pan and one on the send line. I plan to someday buy a seocond sender and put it on the return line so that I can use the same gauge for both, just by flipping a switch. That's part of the beauty of electrical gauges.

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do.


    <font color=green>"Do not replace belt while engine is running" --Warning on a Kelly Srpingfield package</font color=green>
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Any decent hardware store should have the adapters/reducers you need. Not one of those chain stores, but one of the ones where the employees actually know where everything is at!

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page