Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

mig welder...moderators please leave this...

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by twoslo4five0, Feb 14, 2007.

1. twoslo4five0

twoslo4five0 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

alright heres the deal ive done a small amount of welding and im ready to learn more but it looks like im gonna be self taught (which i dont have a problem with more rewarding in the end anyway)...i need to go out and purachase a good but cheap eletic mig...ive been told diffrent things but heard they are the easy to learn on...also been told if you have a cheap on and get good on it when you actually get a miller or something of that stature with gas you will be exelent...dont worry i will just be practiceing on small srap first till i learn...whats a good weleder to buy..seen some at harbor freight for like 100 to 200 bucks...any recomendations???

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

I wouldn't buy anything like that from Harbor Freight.

I'd look into Hobart, they are now Miller's econo line and are good quality.

If you can afford it and have a 220v plug, go with a 220v MIG, you'll be 10 times happier in the end.

3. twoslo4five0

thoose names i deffinitley i cant afford...i checked them out already...i just want a simple 110 eletric welder to learn on...eventually im gonna get a miller gas for big bucks but i wanna start on a simple cheap on first...i buy plenty off stuff from habor just got to look at what you get...if i didnt buy tools from there i would never be able to work on my truck cause i wouldnt have money for it...

4. bbck5on37s

bbck5on37s 1/2 ton status

Lincon has nice little MIG welders

5. twoslo4five0

6. 79k20350

79k20350 3/4 ton status