Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

MIG welding a vertical surface?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TX Mudder, Apr 30, 2002.

1. TX Mudder

TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

My wife is most likely buying me a MIG wleder for my birthday (in May.)
    The one she is looking at is a Craftsman 90-amp unit, capable of welding 24 guage MIG, and 3/16" steel using flux-core (gasless) in a single pass. In case anyone is interested, it is part no. 20511 on sears.com.
    I learning as I go, so I need to make sure.
    Can I weld a vertical surface? I need to weld a crack in the frame.
    BTW, yes I plan to practice welding on scrap before fixing the frame.
    -- Mike

2. Greg72

Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

I'm a newbie to MIG welding but you should be able to weld in any position, even upside down.

The problem is not the welding, it's all the hot "sparks" falling down on you when welding in weird positions. Get a hot spark in your socks for the first time and you'll know what I mean!!! /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Vertical is a tough 'position' to learn. Getting the machine set is half the battle, after that it's just practice.

There are two ways to weld vertically, uphand or downhand. Uphand maens you are starting at the bottom and welding upwards...downhand is the opposite. Downhand is easier to make a decent looking weld but can lead to lack of fusion if you're not careful. Uphand is hard to learn and is generally ugly until you develop your technique. It gives you the strongest weld though. I'd recomend finding a friend that knows how to weld show you a few times first, then practice a lot.

Rene

4. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

oh boy.