Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

modded engine - please help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by aknight_sa, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    guys,

    i have two problems about a modded engine i just installed, the first thing is when the car is cold and start it, it wont start unless i keep my foot on the gasoline peddle for a while as if i dont do that.. it will just go off...the guy who wants to sell it to me says that that is normal with modded engines..


    second thing, after installing it on my 81 jimmy the car wont stay on specially when its on D (automatic)... so now i cant keep the car on.. the said that he was told that that is normal with automatic transmission.. anyway, i am returning the car as i cant drive it this way... is there a solutions for such problems...

    Thanks
     
  2. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    sounds like carb troubles.

    need to mess with the choke and the idle speed.
     
  3. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    130
    If you have any specs on this engine (lift, duration, heads, compression, etc.) you should let us know. It could very well be carb trouble as well. If you know any info about what carb is on it you should let us know that as well.
     
  4. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    here are the specs of the engine

    CHEVEROLET RACING ENGINE, SMALL BLOCK 350, V8, 1983.

    1. NEW SPECIAL OVERHAUL ENGINE.
    2. NEW CAMSHAFT, SOLID 292 (LUNATI) CO.
    3. NEW VALVE LIFTER, SOLID (LUNATI) CO.
    4. NEW VALVES SPRINGS.
    5. NEW HEAD COVER STANLES STEEL, 1.7 (EDEL BROK) CO. *
    6. NEW RACING SPARK PLAG, (NGK) CO.
    7. NEW DOUBLE AIR FILTER MEDUOM SIZE (EDEL BROK) CO. *
    8. NEW AIR FILTER COVER STANLES STEEL, (EDEL BROK) CO. *
    9. NEW CARBORATOR, 750 (DEMON) CO. *
    10. NEW FUEL PUMP (350) GM.
    11. NEW KIT DOUBLE CRANK AND CAMSHAFT POLYS & SPROCET SHAIN.
    12. NEW KIT MSD IGNITION 6A. *
    13. MSD DISTRIBUTOR. *
    14. MSD COIL. *
    15. MSD SPAK PLAG WIRES.
    16. INTAKE MANIFOLD, (WEIAND) CO. *
     
  5. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    130
    292 is a whole lot of cam for a 350 in a truck. That is most of your problem, the engine will not make much power at lower RPM's and therefore has more trouble getting the vehicle moving. Assuming the problem only happens when the vehicle is cold, make sure that the choke is working properly. Otherwise, just raise the idle until it runs ok (with that much cam it may even need to idle above 1000 RPM).
     
  6. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    when the car is warmed up it will stay on when on Nutral or on park.. the problem of staying on while i shift to Drive or when i slow down to almost stopping remains..
     
  7. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    any help guys??
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Sounds to me like a possible vacuum leak.

    Heavily modded engines act that way too, so I wouldn't discount that, but every carbed vehicle I've seen that has had a vacuum leak has problems staying running in drive unless the idle is cranked up far enough to "hide" the problem.
     
  9. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    is it easy to fix??
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Typically yes, but you have to find it first, if indeed that is the issue.
     
  11. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    You'll need a looser torque converter as well. If you have the idle cranked up where it wants to be, the low stall of the torque converter is pulling on the motor. It is not making much torque at this low of an RPM, and can easily be overcome by the drag of the tranny.

    Did I say that right? Make any sense?

    With the parts descriptions you are given, I would seriously doubt the compatibility of the parts used in the build. I mean chrome things are not made of stainless steal.

    Is the solid cam adjusted properly? Is the carb adjusted right? Timing? This motor will require more fine tuning than your typical SBC....
     
  12. potionmaker

    potionmaker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Saudi Arabia? You in the military?
     
  13. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    This might be a jewel in disguise, as the previous owner might not have been able to make it run right, and is just getting rid of his headache.

    I'd like to know more about the heads and intake.

    That is a fairly decent list of parts, and may just require a cam and lifter swap to make a great motor for your truck....
     
  14. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    i did find a gasoline leakage.. we tried to fix it at the gasoline pump.. but there is still gas comming out from somewhere
     
  15. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    Got pics?
     
  16. ecameron87

    ecameron87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Tucson
    Could it be a clogged fuel filter. Always check the basics first. I would check the Fuel pressure just before going into the carb.
     
  17. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    no.. i work in the Saudi Oil company
     
  18. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
  19. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia

    38377k5... you hit the point exactly where the problem is... i just took the car to a guy who is experienced in modding 350 engines.. and he just asked about the camshaft and when we said it was a 292 he said the same exact thing that you said...

    my question now is how can i solve this problem.. i was told that i should do one of the following:

    1. change to a standard camshaft
    2. change the torque converter
    3. change to manual transmission

    what do you think? or should i just raise the idle?? please give me your opinon..


    thanks
     
  20. Rhinopkc

    Rhinopkc 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    You just need a smaller cam. Once you swap out the cam, the converter you have will be fine. You need to find out what compression ratio your engine is, because if it is a high compression engine a short duration cam is going to really bump up your cylinder pressures. This could leave you with an engine with some hefty octane requirements, so make sure to get all of the details on your engine and call or email a few cam companies, you'll save yourself some big headaches later.
     

Share This Page