Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

modular bellhousing for th400???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by fortcollinsram, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Well I just picked up a TH400 for free but the bellhousing is hashed.. The Flexplate came apart and cracked the bell all over the place...


    What do you guys know about modular bellhousings for th400's. From what I have seen/head of them, all ou do is cut off the old bell housing and the new one uses the same bolts as the front pump....

    Here is one that I found..
    http://www.racewithjw.com/bellhousing.html
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Russ(BadDog) wrote an article about installing one. After he cracked a few 400s. Think he said he could never get it to not leak. Forget if there were any other negative comments, pretty certain there were.
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    here it is:
    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117970


    Important post:
    I know hes said something about it since then, maybe he will pop in.
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,554
    Likes Received:
    548
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    if you were closer i have some 400 k cases i need to get rid of. but shipping them would kill ya.
     
  5. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Well luckily I am going to be running a 11" 3500-stall converter...

    I just ordered one off of jegs so we will see how that goes...

    BTW, this is not for my Blazer...this is for a 71 C10 street/strip truck I am building...

    Chris
     

Share This Page