Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

More computer help needed

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by shewheeler, Jul 19, 2003.

  1. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I don't understand how the hell I keep getting viruses on my commputer! I hardly ever even use the stupid thing. I am running AGV Anti-Virus and it removes the viruses, but I just don't see how I'm getting them to begin with? I don't even use an email client on this computer /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif I usually surf CK5, our club site, yahoo mail and maybe a couple of porn sites /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif ... hee hee... j/k about the porn sites. I used to use Kazaa, but unistalled it thinking it was the culprit. I'm on dial-up and don't stay connected when I'm not using my computer.

    What gives? How am I getting infected? Any insite? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    It's probably the same virus and you never got totally rid of it is my bet. Uninstall your virus software you have now, or at the very least disable it, and download another type, like Norton or McAfee and see what that does.... Lavasoft, makers of adaware have an antivirus software too, think it's Panda something, I hear good things about... maybe you can get a free trial and see what you turn up...
     
  3. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Yah, I had the Panda one before I DL'd AGV. The Panda software didn't catch a couple of viruses and that's why I switched to AGV. I have been thinking I should get NortonAV, but I just don't understand how I'm even getting them in the first place. It's different ones every time, so I don't know about it being the same one that I've had, but I dunno... could be I suppose. I never had this problem with my other computer, so that's why I'm stoopified /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
     
  4. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    There could have been a couple of virus in your computer when you got it used..
     
  5. TXsizeK5

    TXsizeK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Posts:
    2,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    So how do you know if you have a virus?
     
  6. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

    Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Posts:
    20,716
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Undisclosed Location
    [ QUOTE ]
    So how do you know if you have a virus?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Usually the signs are a cough, high fever and very red face.
     
  7. Polaris

    Polaris 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rhinelander, Wisconsin
    Do you update your anti-virus software on a weekly or bi-weekly basis? I think many people just don't know that they have to. I have Norton AntiVirus and it just does everything for me. Auto updates, checks everything incoming & outgoing. Well worth the $ IMO.
     
  8. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    So how do you know if you have a virus?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    When the CDC comes knocking at my door /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    The anti-virus software that I'm running usually pops up a message saying that a virus has been detected. I think the viruses are being removed, I'm wondering how the hell they keep infecting my machine.

    Still /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  9. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Try Norton Antivirus. It has automatic updates to the virus definitions file so it will stay up to date.

    It will be very difficult for anyone to know how you keep getting viruses unless you tell us exactly what virus you have. NAV tells you exactly what virus you have when it detects it. I would think other AV programs do the same.
    This is important because different viruses have different modes of transmission. Identifying the virus will help identify hwo you keep getting it.

    -- Mike
     
  10. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    The last 4 viruses that were detected on my machine:

    worm/Muma
    worm/Valla.2048
    worm/Lovegate.I
    IRC/Backdoor.Flood

    I'm guessing these are all some sort of worm viruses which I had always thought were transmitted via email/address book. But, as I stated previously, I don't use an email client on my machine. Does this help?
     
  11. dysphemism

    dysphemism 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Posts:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    reformat...
     
  12. Goober

    Goober 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mayberry (Auburn, WA)
    You've been chatting on IRC again, haven't you? /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif



    IRC/Backdoor.Flood is a likely source of many of your problems.

    IRC/Backdoor.Flood is what's called a "Trojan" or "Remote Control" virus. Technically, it's not a virus but for the sake of argument, let's call it one.

    When these programs are active (they load at bootup) they allows a remote user (badguy) to have complete access top your computer to copy files (stuff like Quicken data files and other sensitive stuff) and upload anthing they want. Most of the time, Trojans will also arrive with a few extra goodies (multiple virus') just to make it more exciting.


    IRC is lot's of fun but you can run into some pretty wicked folks out there. I didn't see what operating system you are running but reformating would be a quick fix. The only problem with that is downloading all the OS updates and getting everything re-configured on your new installation. And if you make backups of a bunch of files to put on the new system, you might copy the virus files also (I hate when that happens).

    Anyway, whatever you do make sure you have the latest updates for whatever Anti-Virus software you are using and get yourself a simple firewall ( like Zone Alarm).


    My recommendation: Find a geek who will work for beer and buy him a rack of his favorite suds. That way, you don't have to mess with it. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  13. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    hmmm, that's interesting because I don't use IRC either /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    Well, maybe I'll uninstall that and get NortonAV and see how I do after that. I guess maybe I'll reformat if I can round up all the software.

    Thanks all for your input /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  14. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Hmmm....

    I have had this same computer, in one form or another, for almost 6 years. I have never had a problem with a virus, and never had any AV software installed. What the hell are you guys doing that keeps getting you these viruses? I do the IRC thing, pretty much do pretty much anything I want online, Never had an issue. I do keeep up with my system, maintenance etc, don't download stuff I can't identify, don't open any junk e-mail- If you think about things, you won't have issues. I don't, and never had. I didn't even have any problems when I was in Kansas and had Cable. Ran a small network in my appt, Didn't use a router, just a switch, cause I got 3 static IP's from my ISP. No firewall either. Cable internet without a router and/or firewall, isn't exactly the best for security, or so I'm told...No issues. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     

Share This Page