Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

More power for my 350. ideas?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 76blazerguy, Jan 12, 2005.

1. 76blazerguy

76blazerguy 1/2 ton status

I currently have a 350 with a holley 4barrel 450cfm. I have a flowmaster muffler with the stock pipes. I also have a K&N filter. New wires, plugs, rotor and cap. I dont want crazy power, just it little more hp so it doesnt feel like im using all its got! Im interested in an intake but im not sure what kind would work with my carb. Sorry that might be a stupid question, im pretty new to chevy's. any one have some suggestions that arent gonna cost me big bucks.

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

headers, cam, intake, some head work...

3. 76blazerguy

well the problem im slightly concerned with headers is i have the valve that puts warm air into my air filter(sorry i cant remember what its called) and its pretty cold round here at the moment so i do like that feature. I would love to do that when it warms up but do anyone make headers that you can use the heat function with?

4. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

Bigger carb would help a lot. 350s should have at least 550 cfm to make power. You are chokeing it with a 450 cfm. If you want to keep that small carb there aint really much you can do to make power.
    If you want to bolt on some power.A new quadrajet would be a real good start.

5. ryoken

Thorley makes headers with a heat riser.. and as Thunder said, the carb is small.. my buddy just got done with a hotrod 6 cyl in a 67 van and he runs that carb..:wink1:

6. 76blazerguy