Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

More Power

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 87BrnRsd, Jun 22, 2003.

1. 87BrnRsd

87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

I have an 87 K5 with 350/700R4/NP208. It also has the stock tbi. I took the engine out to have it re-built 2 weeks ago, and am picking the engine back up on wednesday. I was thinking, since the engine is already out of the truck, it would be easy to do some minor modifications for power. I dont want headers, a new intake, or a chip. I was just wondering if there are any other cheap modifications that I can do to the engine before I put it back in the truck that will be pretty easy. I am on a tight budget, since I am a highschool student, and am looking for upgrades around or under $100. I know that for this price I cant make my truck a racecar or anything, just wondering if there are any easy mods I can do before the engine goes back in. Thanks for looking.
    -Harrison

2. zcarczar

zcarczar 1/2 ton status

an Edelbrock intake will help. Yes, it might be a little expensive but the stock intake just plain sucks IMHO.

3. DOCKAWI650

DOCKAWI650 Registered Member

yeah harrison, I would definatly go with an edelbrock aluminum intake. there are some on ebay going for around $50..

-doc /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. Dale fan

Dale fan 1/2 ton status

I 3rd on the intake. Very easy mod. Be sure you get the one for the TBI's. Go to edelbrocks web site and get the right part # before you go ebaying.

5. big pappa b

big pappa b 3/4 ton status

6. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

If you still have stock exhaust. Getting better exhaust should be the first mod you do. It is pretty much a waste of money to put performance mods on your engine if you cant get the burnt gasses out of your pipe.