Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Motor Blown?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by firefighter184, Mar 10, 2005.

1. firefighter184

firefighter184 1/2 ton status

Think I spun a bearing. Got a pretty wicked knock coming from what appears to be the rear of the block. How screwed am I? I am no mechanic, so I will have to pay somebody to fix this. I talked to one shop, and they're talking like $1500, because they said the crankshaft is probably scarred up. I just had the top end rebuilt like 2000 miles ago, so I'm thinking it might just be cheaper to get a short block. What do you guys think? Spring is almost here, I have 3/4 ton axles waiting to go under, as well as sliders. I did NOT need this crap right now!:mad:

2. Fierospeeder

Fierospeeder Banned

they would need to regrind the crankshaft then polish it.

They may need to grind the "saddle" where the crankshaft rests.

Their price is reasonable. If they are pulling the motor out, tearing it apart, and having a machine shop do all the block work.

If a shop is installing a motor, you will be close to a grand, no matter what option you take. Unless, you find a buddy who can install a wreck truck motor in your vehicle or a junkyard motor.

3. Cricket

Cricket 3/4 ton status

Might try and find a good used motor for the short term until you can afford a good rebuild.

4. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

5. dirtwarrior17

dirtwarrior17 Banned

if you buy from ebay prepare to take a bunch of ****.... no seriously do your homework and check everything out like talk to a few of his buyers and him to get an idea who your dealing with before you bid. Ebay can be your friend or your enemy.

If a shop intalls a motor you can expect well over 2 grand... ask my mom, although she has mpfi on her stang.