Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Motor mount Torque

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Seventy4Blazer, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    the plate on the engine. what do i TQ the 3 bolts to?
    i have 3 chiltons on chevy trucks, none of them have it.
    i dont understand. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif maybe thats the one thing haynes has over chiltons.
    Grant
     
  2. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    Grade 5 bolt's? around 30lbs. outta be good, and some blue locktight.
     
  3. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    whatever grade 170,000 PSI ARP bolts are.... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    thanks.
    Grant
     
  4. BigBurban350

    BigBurban350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Utilize the German torque spec:

    Gutt-En-Tight /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  5. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    not on my truck. i only do german TQ on the helicopters i work on. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    Grant
     
  6. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    I didnt use a torque wrench at all putting my whole engine back together and in my truck. Just tighten them until they dont get any tighter, you wont ring them off.
    -Harrison
     
  7. RustBuket

    RustBuket 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    I didn't use a torque wrench for mine either but I just did em till they were nice and tight. They better hold!!! lol
     

Share This Page